Tags

, , , , , , ,

Prompt: Song
I (arbitrarily) chose “Crazy,” written by Mr. Willie Nelson and originally popularized by Ms. Patsy Cline.

Crazy

Am I crazy?
Am I feelin’?
Am I lonely?
Am I blue?

I knew.
You, new.
I worry.
I do.

Am I crazy?
Am I thinkin’?
Am I holdin’?
Are we through?

I try.
I cry.
I love.
Not you.

©2012 yahneverknow

Original Lyrics:

Crazy, I’m crazy for feelin’ so lonely.
I’m crazy, crazy for feelin’ so blue.
I knew you’d love me as long as you wanted,
And then some day, you’d leave me for somebody new.

Worry, why do I let myself worry,
Wond’rin’ what in the world did I do?

Oh, crazy, for thinkin’ that my love could hold you.
I’m crazy for tryin’
And crazy for cryin’
And I’m crazy for lovin’ you.

Fun Factoid (taken from Wikipedia): Barbara Mandrell remembers Cline introducing the song to her audiences live in concert saying “I had a hit out called ‘I Fall to Pieces’ and I was in a car wreck. Now I’m really worried because I have a new hit single out and its called ‘Crazy’.”

Ms. Cline died in a plane crash in 1963 at age 30.

In my head, this song will be forever tied to Ted, his 45 jukebox, and Cirals’ House of Tiki. Hope you have your homemade canoe with you in the beyond, sir. And I hope Ms. Bee joins you when she’s ready… with bells on.

NaPoWriMo2012More info on NaPoWriMo2012
(National Poetry Writing Month 2012)

