Tags

, , , , , , ,

Prompt: Epithalamium (Epithalamion) (now THAT’s a mouthful)

Breathe

If
You’re a little nervous
Like a gangly
Little teen,

Don’t
Think too much about it.
It will be what
It will be.

You’ve
seen him “in the flesh”; it’s
Nothing new,
Nothing pristine.

But,
Still, it’s somehow different
Now that you are
Wearing rings.

You
Just savor the moment,
Holding hands, and then
Just breathe.

©2012 yahneverknow

When I read the prompt, I immediately thought of a shivaree. If you’ve ever seen the musical Oklahoma, you’ve seen an American pioneer version, which is much less a punishment than a celebration through noisy gentle hazing. I tried to capture the pot-clanging whooping and hollering and teasing in a poem and failed miserably. Then this came out; it’s so quiet, quite the opposite.

Confusion: I really wanted to write teen as ‘teen, but I didn’t know why.

NaPoWriMo2012More info on NaPoWriMo2012
(National Poetry Writing Month 2012)

