Tags

, , , , , ,

Prompt: Animals (+MM)

Long Necks

Unflapped
Blinking eyes, long-lashed, langorously staring
back at me–unseeing.
Brushing branches aside in quest of soft green
nibbles–chewing–ungulating–
Spotted. Not quite spots, more like softened
angular imprints–identifying mother to child.
Short-cropped bristles designed for native
savannah-ed vistas, not this temperate zoo location.

To see you in your real life
unwalled
unfettered
uncaptured nature.

So still
Even in running
Herds of legs and necks
Unbreakably free.

Do you remember
Free?

©2012 yahneverknow

Um. Yah. Sorry if I’m not refined enough, but the 3 Marianne Moore pieces linked in the NaPoWriMo.net post just do not do it for me. I didn’t investigate her work further. Feel free to pass along any that you think I should look at.

NaPoWriMo2012More info on NaPoWriMo2012
(National Poetry Writing Month 2012)

