Tags

, , , , ,

Prompt: Cento

Secrets

And this was the reason that, long ago,
here is the deepest secret nobody knows
Have you seen but a bright lily grow,
I see you come out proud and slow

They did not recognize me in the shadows
And there the grass grows soft and white,
Wherefore the extravagant device of art
currents of the known

(Nature’s completest miniature divine):
These things are well enough, – but thou wert made
Swallowing the celestial beauty
into the crystal that changes like the fire.

All I have now is echo.

©2012 yahneverknow

I was not really juiced about writing this one, as it is not writing, just copying and pasting. Halfway through this process, I discovered that randomly choosing poems to be ganked had found me several previously-unread gems, and a few duds. I also discovered that I really don’t like Robert Frost’s work; ten poems yielded no reaction from me. So, maybe, this was a good thing after all.

Those I copied and pasted, in order (mouseover title = line ganked):

Edgar Allan Poe: Annabel Lee
E. E. Cummings: i carry your heart with me
Ben Jonson: A Celebration of Charis: IV. Her Triumph
Elizabeth Barrett Browning: The Runaway Slave at Pilgrim’s Point
Mahmoud Darwish: Passport
Shel Silverstein: Where The Sidewalk Ends
John Crowe Ransom: Painted Head
John Montague: The Golden Hook
Joseph Warton: Verses On A Butterfly
Oscar Wilde: Fabien Dei Franchi
Godfrey Mutiso Gorry: AN ODE TO MY JAILED FRIEND
Jorge Luis Borges: We are the time. We are the famous
Tiel Aisha Ansari: Inheritance/Improvisation

And one honorable mention whose work made me crack up to no end and whose lines I desperately tried to shove into this piece, but it just didn’t work this time: Maggie Estep

NaPoWriMo2012More info on NaPoWriMo2012
(National Poetry Writing Month 2012)

