Tags

, , , , , , ,

I don’t know about you, but when I was growing up, swear words were not a part of my world.

It’s not like I didn’t hear them. When I was younger, my dad had a habit of cursing. His favorite phrase was, “God Dammy!” He had said it so much that when we moved to the other side of the state and he had his farewell party at work, a co-worker handed him a gift: it was cross-stitched and framed and read, GOD DAMMY, WHY ME? with a little embroidered heart. However, we were supposed to be some kind of good born-again christian family, going to church every Sunday and church camp every summer. But one thing was given an exception to the unspoken rule of bad words: the card game, Bullshit!

I don’t know when it started. It wasn’t a regular thing. But I distinctly remember playing it when we went up north for the summer and I couldn’t have been more than 8 years old at the time. I remember looking at my cards and looking at the other players, just knowing when they were full of it. I relished catching them in their lies and ending up winning, especially since I was the youngest. Even then, I was reading people. I realize now that the Bullshit! card game was one of my stepping stones to later playing poker. Who knew?

Nowadays, I wish I could call Bullshit! on people in regular life. If only it worked that way…. *sigh*

Bullshitters come in a myriad of forms. And most, when you effectively call Bullshit! on them, try to backtrack and pretend they didn’t just say what they said. They pile on more bullshit and do anything they can to not be found out. And all the time, the cards they said they put on the pile still sit there. Most people ignore the cards and pretend nothing happened and no one called Bullshit!. I can’t ignore them. I want the Bullshit!-or to take them back and be forced to play the rest of the game holding 1/2 the deck. Having that many cards might help them win in the end, I suppose. Eh… if it does, so be it. I just want them to play fair.

But they don’t do they?

It’s all part of the game, they say… It’s the only way to win!
Maybe there is some truth to that.

I still want to call Bullshit! on them and have ’em own up to it.
I also want everyone else to see the Bullshit! get called out.
But they don’t want to see it, do they?

Perhaps it really IS true…

Ignorance is Bliss.

~ They

Bullshit!

Cheers!
Michelle